ARE YOU IN NEED OF A STUNNING WEBSITE? CALL or WHATSAPP: +2347066721094, +2349035309594

The Independent National Electoral Commission released results of the supplementary governorship polls it conducted in some states at the weekend after it declared the March 9 poll in the affected states inconclusive.

The states where the governorship run-off poll was held on March 23 are Sokoto, Plateau, Kano, Benue and Bauchi. INEC has declared governors-elect in four of the states.

Issues in the election results declared on Sunday…
Sokoto State Governor, Aminu Tambuwal and his Benue State counterpart, Samuel Ortom, fought hard battles to emerge victorious at the supplementary election conducted in their states on Saturday.

Also, Governor Simon Lalong of Plateau State and his Kano State counterpart, Abdullahi Ganduje of Kano State, were also returned elected by INEC. Lalong and Ganduje are APC candidates while Tambuwal and Ortom contested the election under the platform of the PDP.

According to INEC, Tambuwal, a former Speaker of the House of Representatives,, won a second term with a slim margin of 342 votes, polling 512,002 votes to defeat his erstwhile deputy, Ahmed Aliyu of the APC, who garnered 511,660 votes.

The PDP had won the March 9 governorship election with 3,413 votes scoring 489,558 votes in the inconclusive poll while the APC polled 486,145. The APC, however, won the supplementary election scoring 25,515 votes to PDP’s 24,444.

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE  Two Policemen, 12 Others Paraded For "Organised" Stealing

Announcing the final results of the election on Sunday, the state Returning Officer, Prof. Fatimah Mukhtar, said the total registered voters were 1,887,767 and accredited voters, 1,083,413.

She put the votes cast at 1,067,994 while the number of rejected votes was 31,662.

Declaring Tambuwal the winner of the poll, the returning officer said, “Aminu Tambuwal having satisfied the constitutional requirements, is hereby declared the winner of the election.”

The hall erupted with shouts of Allahu Akbar (God is great) and Sai Mutawalle,’the governor’s traditional title.

The Resident Electoral Officer, Mallam Sadiq Musa, had earlier said the declaration of the winner would be based on a simple majority, The Punch reports.

Before the winner was announced, there was apprehension over the late collation and transmission of results from the Kebbe Local Government Area which forced Mukhtar to suspend the declaration of the results around 3.45am on Sunday till 9am.

The results from the local government were considered vital on account of its dense voter population of 20,015 and the high number of polling units put at 35.

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE  Senator Omo-Agege Reacts After Court Sacked Him

Meanwhile, the governor has dedicated his victory to “the resilience and unalloyed trust the people of the state reposed” in his administration.

APC rejects Tambuwal’s victory 
But the APC in Sokoto State has rejected the results of the governorship election.

Similarly, the Chairman, APC Governorship Campaign Council, Alhaji Maigari Dingyadi, denied that Senator Aliyu Wamakko and the APC candidate, Alhaji Ahmed Aliyu, had called Tambuwal and congratulated him on his victory.

Dingyadi described such news as being circulated in the social media as malicious and false.

The state Publicity Secretary of the party, Sambo Danchadi, said, “The so-called winning margin of 342 votes is far less than the number of the registered voters in the polling units where elections were not held, which is in contravention of the electoral law.

INEC declares Ortom winner in Benue 
Also, the Benue State governorship Returning Officer, Mr Sebastine Maimako, declared Ortom as the winner of the governorship election.

He said Ortom polled 434,473 votes to defeat his closest opponent, Mr Emmanuel Jime, the APC candidate, who scored 345,155 votes.

Ortom had during the governorship election on March 9, polled 410,576 votes as against Jime’s 329,022.

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE  Buhari Appoints Son-In-Law As Head Of Government Agency

According to the supplementary election results, Ortom polled 23,897 votes while Jime got 16,133 votes.

Maimako said, “Number of total registered voters is 2,471,894 while accredited voters are 858,947, number of valid votes is 830,954, rejected votes, 15,268 and the number of total votes cast is 846,222.

“Ortom scored 434,473 votes while Jime scored 345,155 votes. That Samuel Ortom of the PDP, having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected.”

APC, PDP supporters disagree as Ganduje wins Kano run-off 
Also, Ganduje was on Sunday declared the winner of the governorship election after he garnered 1,033,695 votes to beat the PDP candidate, Mr Abba Yusuf, who scored 1,024,713 votes.

In the result announced by INEC in Kano, Ganduje, who sought re-election for a second term, defeated the PDP candidate, Mr Abba Yusuf.

The PDP alleged that the election, which Ganduje won with 8, 982 margin, was marred by violence, voter intimidation and other malpractices.

In the main election of March 23, Ganduje had scored 987,819 votes and trailed Yusuf, who got 1,014,474 votes at the time.

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE  Gov Udom Emmanuel's Security Aide Abducted By Soldiers

Yusuf led with over 26,000 votes as of March 23.

However, in the supplementary poll, the governor got additional 45,876 votes to cancel the lead and bring his final tally to 1,033,695.

On his part, Yusuf scored additional 10,239 votes from the supplementary election to bring his overall total 1,024,713.

The declaration was made by the state INEC Returning Officer, Prof. Bello Shehu.

But ahead of the announcement of the final result, the APC and the PDP supporters engaged one another in a shouting match, as they disagreed over the outcome of the rerun poll.

The clash occurred as Shehu collated the results of Nasarawa, a key local government area where 38,181 voters registered in Gama Ward.

The APC won in Gama, the crucial swing ward, by polling 10,536 votes to the PDP’s 3,409 ballots.

But, the PDP members at the collation centre, protested against the figures, insisting that election did not take place in the ward.

They also demanded the cancellation of the entire supplementary election on the grounds that it was marred by violence and other forms of “fraudulent practices.”

The APC members at the collation centre immediately reacted by insisting that the results must stand, a development that fuelled a shouting match between the supporters of the two parties.

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE  El-Rufai, Fayose, Odilli Banned From Entering US Over Alleged Corruption?
A PDP member of the House of Representatives from Dala in Kano, Mr Ali Madaki, led the protest, as he continued to ask Shehu to halt the collation of the results.
Madaki stated, “What happened in Kano was not an election; the fraud did not pass the integrity test. In Gama, and most parts of Kano State, there was no election, rather it was thuggery aided by the state government. What you call an election should be cancelled.

“As I speak, INEC (members of staff) and party agents are fighting over the results of Gama. We have cases where results were written for polling units where nothing took place at all.”

Madaki berated INEC and the university lecturers, who served as electoral officials. He said he could not believe that professors “can cook the lies and fraud you call an election in Kano.”

Invest In Social Force & Get 50%
Click HERE >>

To Buy Cheap MTN & GLO Data 
Click HERE >> 

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});