Super Eagles Coach Gernot Rohr has released his provisional list for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations.

Captain and midfield maestro John Mikel Obi, which for sometime now have been doubtful of his involvement with the national team, is included in the 25-man list released on Tuesday by the Super Eagles coach.

Aside Mikel, pacy winger Ahmed Musa who has been the stand-in captain in the absence of the Middlesbrough star is also in the roster.

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE  Female Police Officer, Crimnal Arrested For Robbery, Murder Of Woman (Photo)

The 25-man squad will be preparing for the 32nd Africa Cup of Nations finals that will be hosted in Egypt this June. 

Many analysts believe Mikel is so vital and would provide the needed leadership for the Super Eagles team.

Mikel Obi, who captained the team at the FIFA World Cup finals in Russia last year summer, has not been with the group since Nigeria’s elimination from the finals after a 1-2 defeat by Argentina in Saint Petersburg.

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE  We Can't Win Kogi With Yahaya Bello As Candidate - Kogi APC Stakeholder

However, a recent meeting with Rohr in the United Kingdom sealed his return to the three time African champions, with the possibility of adding to his 85 international caps.

Rohr has largely kept faith with most of the players who earned a ticket to the AFCON finals with a match to spare. So there are no surprises in the list, elistthe Six Standby Players

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Katsina United); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa)

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE  Finally Atiku Releases Evidence Of Result From INEC Website

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England)

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Middlesbrough FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassar FC, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi SC, Belgium); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Shanghai Shenhua, China); Alexander Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjyland, Denmark); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain)

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE  Governor Okorocha Set To Dump APC?

Six On Standby: Theophilus Afelokhai (Enyimba FC); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia); Ikouwem Utin (Enyimba FC); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Setubal, Portugal); Junior Ajayi (Al Ahly, Egypt); Valentine Ozornwafor (Enyimba FC)